Key Journals
Real estate journals currently received by the Business School Library are listed below. Highlighted titles are received electronically. All others are in paper format:
- Journal of Real Estate Finance and Economics
- Journal of Planning Literature
- Journal of Property Management
- Journal of Real Estate Portfolio Management
- Journal of Real Estate Research
- Land Economics
- National Real Estate Investor
- Real Estate Economics:Journal of the American Real Estate and Urban Economic Association (AREUEA)
- Real Estate Finance
- Real Estate Issues (REI)
- Real Estate Law Journal (Law Library Periodicals, 3rd floor)
- Real Estate Review ULI (Urban Land Institute) ... real estate forecast U.S. housing market conditions U.S. housing markets
Article Databases
Brause Real Estate Periodical Index This index is produced and maintained by the Jack Brause Real Estate Library of NYU and covers more than 140 real estate related periodicals. It contains citations for articles only. There are no restrictions on its use.
ABI/INFORM This database contains bibliographic citations, abstracts and full text articles from academic journals and trade magazines. It also has company histories, new product development and competitive intelligence. University of Wisconsin licensed database.
Business Source Elite This database has full text articles for all fields of business journals and popular business publications. It provides index and abstract backfiles go back as far as 1984.
Factiva This database provides major newspapers, full text articles, SEC filings, industry reports, financial statements and historical stock prices. University of Wisconsin licensed database.
HUD Bibliographic Database The HUD Bibliographic Database contanis 10,000 abstract citations to a variety of reports, newspaper and periodical articles and mongraphs that relate to housing policy, economic development, and urban planning.
Government Resources
Bureau of Census This web site contains all of the data provided by various census documents. Below are areass that would be of most interest to Real Estate researchers:
- Census of Construction Industries
- Construction Statistics
- Census Bureau Housing Topics
- Census of Housing - Historical Statistics
HUD (Housing and Urban Development)
Office of Federal Housing Enterprise Oversight (OFHEO)
Survey of Real Estate Trends This publication has been discontinued but is still valuable for historical data. Data represented in the database is good for 1997-2002.
Home Mortgage Disclosure Act (HMDA)
Enacted by Congress in 1975 and implemented by the Federal Reserve Board's Regulation C. This web site provides regulations about the public loan data.
Real Estate Web Sites
American Real Estate Society (ARES) provides links to a number of academic real estate journal and societies.
BOMA (Building Owners and Managers Association) This web site has a list of all the publications and products that can be purchased from the Building Owners and Managers Association (BOMA). This site does not give you all the data from the reports but there are some useful statistics in a section called Experience Exchange Report (EER Highlights).
CB Richard Ellis This site has historical vacancy rates and historical outlooks on the real estate market through MarketWatch.
FannieMae The largest source of home mortgage funds. This site contains financial statements, details on mortgage-backed securities, housing, and mortgage market outlook data. There is also a subject and author index to their published reports.
FreddieMac A stockholder-owned corporation chartered by Congress to increase the supply of funds that mortgage lenders, such as commercial banks, mortgage bankers, savings institutions and credit unions, can make available to home buyers and multifamily investors. This site contains the Primary Mortgage Market Survey. This survey contains historical data on the weekly average of 30 - year fixed-rate mortgage rate; 1-year ARM; and the 15-year fixed - rate mortgage rate.
International Council of Shopping Centers (ICSC) Contains sales reports on Shopping Centers, Department Stores, and Factory Outlets nationally and regionally. Click on " Research" for their Scope report which has information on the number of malls and/or Shopping Centers and their sales.
International Union for Housing Finance A nonprofit trade association. This site provides information about housing, mortgage credit and global home ownership
Landauer Landauer is a real estate consulting firm. This site provides some of its material free of charge. Market Forecasts are available. There are a sampling of case studies in real estate available if you register.
National Association of Home Builders This site provides housing facts and figures. You can find statistical information about housing starts, housing prices, remodeling expenses, mortgage rates, and housing forecasts.. All of the data is at the national level.
National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts
This site an analyst database has recent press releases about the industry, allows retrieval of on-line REIT information, and links to REIT companies that have web sites. The site also maintains performance data on REITs.
National Council of Real Estate Investment Fiduciaries This is an association of institutional real estate professionals. This site provides information on the NCREIF Property Index. This index provides some performance measures of some types of real estate property from 1977 to date.