Research Guide

Ratios & Statistics

Almanac of Business & Industrial Financial Ratios
Reference Collection HF 5681 R25 T68
This volume provides measures of operating performance, liquidity, debt servicing ability and profitability for many NAICS (North American Industrial Classification System) codes. Calculated from corporate IRS returns, tables are presented for corporations with net income and for corporations with and without net income. Trends for the previous ten years are also included.

Business Statistics of the United States
Reference Collection HC 101 A131222
Part B of this book has industry profiles giving production, prices, employment and earnings data from 1970 through 2000 for hundreds of industries.

Fintel provides financial metrics for over 2500 industries. The database includes 3 reports: income statement and balance sheet data reported as a percent to sales revenue, income statement and balance sheet data reported in dollars, and 15 corporate ratios. ACCESS: Only available in Grainger Hall.

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
Reference Collection HF5681 R25 I5
Similar to RMA Annual Statement Studies, this book provides "norms" and ratios for most SIC codes. Included are assets and liabilities in dollars and as percentages. Ratios are provided for the upper quartile, median and lower quartile.

RMA Annual Statement Studies
Reference CollectionHF 5681 B2 R6
Published by the Risk Management Association, this volume has current and historical data for most industries according to their SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) and NAICS codes. Assets, liabilities, income and and a variety of ratios are included. A particularly good feature of this book is that it divides the companies in each industry into six groups according to size.

Mergent Industry Review
Reference Collection HC 59 M622
This looseleaf service gives comparative statistics, financial data and growth rates for major companies within 137 industries. Included are revenues, net income, profit margin, return on assets, PE ratios and more. It is updated twice a year.

Value Line Investment Survey
Reference Collection HG 4921 V3 R3
Written primarily for the individual investor, the Ratings and Reports section gives 1-page profiles on approximately 100 industries. These profiles include recent developments, statistics and industry forecasts. Updated quarterly.

Article Databases

Business & Industry If your industry is too small to be included in S&P Industry Surveys, this is a good database to check. It has fulltext articles from over 600 trade journals from around the world. Trade journals often have the most up-to-date information on industry trends, market share and small businesses. ACCESS: Students, faculty and staff can access this from home or office.

ABI/Inform has abstracts and full text articles from over 1000 business periodicals published from 1971 to the present. It indexes scholarly journals as well as popular business magazines and trade publications. ACCESS: Students, faculty and staff can access this from home or office.

Business Source Elite is a full text database of more than 900 business journals in addition to an indexing and abstracting database of approximately 1570 journals. It includes both scholarly, trade and popular business magazines. ACCESS: Students, faculty and staff can access this from home or office

Trade Associations

Associations Unlimited can help you identify relevant trade associations related to the industry you are researching. It is a directory of international, national, state and local organizations and can give you links to websites as well as address and telephone numbers. ACCESS: Students, faculty and staff can access this from home or office.

Small Business Sourcebook
Reference Collection HD 2346 U5 S65
Thinking of starting a small business? This two volume set includes start-up information, relevant trade associations, reference and licensing information, supply sources, educational opportunities, trade shows and consultants for over 300 small businesses. A state-by-state index details small business assistance programs.