Research Guide

Journals

These actuarial science, risk management and insurance journals are currently received online by the Business Library:

Business Insurance (full text from Nov. 15, 1999 to current)

Best's Review (full text from Jan. 2000 to current)

Insurance and Technology (full text from Jan. 1992 to current)

Journal of Insurance Issues (full text from Spring 1999 to current)

Journal of Risk and Insurance (full text from Sept. 1997 to current)

National Underwriter. Life and Health (full text from Feb. 17, 1992 to current)

National Underwriter. P&C (full text from Feb. 10,1992 to current)

Article Databases

ABI/Inform contains abstracts and full text articles from over 1000 academic journals and trade magazines covering all business topics, including risk management, actuarial science and insurance.

Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, of which over 1,100 are peer-reviewed. The database includes scholarly, trade and popular business magazines and covers all business disciplines including risk management, actuarial science and insurance.

Company Ratings

Best's Ratings Online
A.M. Best is a worldwide insurance-rating and information company. This database contains information on nearly 6,000 health/life, property/casualty, and international insurance companies. You must register to search the database.

Government Resources

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
An independent agency of the U.S. Government. It was established in 1933 by Congress to insure bank deposits, help maintain sound conditions in the banking system, and protect the nation's money supply in case of financial institution failure. This web site is rich with reports on the banking industry and consumer protection.

Federal Emergency Management Administration (FEMA)
An independent agency of the federal government, it provides disaster preparedness and insurance information.

Unemployment Insurance Data Summary
This website provides the user with a quick overview of the status of the UI system at the national and state level.

Insurance Web Sites

Ambest.com
This site is an insurance information sources, it offers comprehensive, quality data covering all aspects of the insurance industry.

Insure.com (The Consumer Insurance Guide)
While it appears to be primarily selling insurance, this site provides reports on the latest news in the insurance industry and has FAQs and advice for consumers on insurance topics. Insure.com, Inc. is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Quotesmith.com, Inc.

Insurance Information Institute
The mission of the Insurance Information Institute (I.I.I.) is to improve public understanding of insurance. It has reports on topics from Annuities to Workers Compensation.

The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety
The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety is an independent, nonprofit, scientific and educational organization dedicated to reducing the losses from crashes on the nation's highways. This site provides reports on motor vehicle accidents, auto safety ratings and research on a variety of safety topics.

National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
The mission of the NAIC is to assist state insurance regulators, individually and collectively, in serving the public interest. From this web site, you can file and search complaints for individual insurance companies.

National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)
This site provides fire codes, standards and research on fire safety issues.