Resources

Articles and Abstracts

ABI/Inform provides in-depth coverage of business conditions, trends, corporate strategies, management techniques, product information and a wide variety of other topics from more than 1300 leading business and management publications, including over 350 English-language titles from outside the United States. It indexes scholarly journals as well as popular business magazines and trade publications. Full text is available for more than 600 of the titles indexed, including the Wall Street Journal. Citations in ABI/Inform also contain a 150 to 200 word abstract. Coverage is from 1971 and is updated weekly. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

Business & Industry indexes over 1000 trade magazines, newsletters, general business press, regional newspapers, and international business dailies from 1994 to the present. It contains figures, trends, forecasts and overviews dealing with public and private companies, industries, products and markets at an international level. The database includes full text articles and informative abstracts from over 30 countries. More than 60% of the records are full text. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

Business Book Summaries is a database of over 750 book summaries  with more than 60 new titles added annually. For each book, experts create 300-word, 650-word, and 4,500-word summaries that present the author’s ideas in a condensed form. The summaries are organized into 18 categories: Business Strategy, Management, Human Resources, Leadership, Business Biographies, Global Business, Marketing, Productivity, Customer Satisfaction, Innovation, Major Works, Economics, Finance, Diversity, IT/Internet, Social Responsibility and Entrepreneurship. Business Book Summaries focus on the author’s learning objectives, and each summary includes the key concepts found in the book, as well as an overview of the book’s contents and tips for optimizing the use of the book as a professional development resource.  The Business Library will link this resource to Madcat so that users will be able to request the book itself.

Business Full Text indexes over 400 business periodicals published from 1982 to the present. It indexes scholarly journals as well as popular business magazines and trade publications. Despite its name, fewer than half of the articles are full text. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, of which over 1,100 are peer-reviewed. The database includes scholarly, trade and popular business magazines and covers all business disciplines. Searches can be limited to retrieve only scholarly journals. Dates vary but some full text dates back to 1886. Market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses are also available. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

EconLit indexes and abstracts more than 300 scholarly English language periodicals and books in the field of economics. Materials indexed range from 1969 to the present. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

Factiva is a major online source for business and financial news. It provides access to almost 9000 business, trade, and general publications, including same day, full text access to the Wall Street Journal, Barron's, the New York Times, the Los Angeles Times and the Washington Post. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

Lexis/Nexis Academic is an online service composed of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources, most of which are full text. It includes U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, company and industry analyst reports, and broadcast transcripts. Advertisements, obituaries, graphics, and syndicated features are typically not included. ACCESS: the producer of Lexis/Nexis specifically requires that this database only be used for educational purposes by students and faculty of the University of Wisconsin--Madison. Available from campus libraries, home or office.

Newspaper Source Plus provides full text access to 1520 newspapers including the New York Times, Wisconsin State Journal and the Milwaukee Journal/Sentinel. In addition, the database features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff; available from campus libraries, home or office. Also available to all Wisconsin residents via Badgerlink.

PsycInfo, produced by the American Psychological Association, contains peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Use this database to find scholarly articles on the psychological aspects of business topics such as employee motivation, leadership and stress at work. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

Regional Business News is a full text database incorporating regional business publications from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Coverage includes 75 business journals, newspapers, and newswires such as: Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business, Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, and Westchester County Business Journal . The database is updated on a daily basis. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

Company Financials

Bloomberg provides financial information, data, pricing and analyses for all publicly traded companies. It has dealer quotes and indicative data for all securities and also offers statistics, indices and research. Bloomberg covers all key global securities markets including equities, money markets, currencies, municipal, corporate/Euro/ sovereign bonds, commodities, mortgage-backed securities, derivative products and governments. Bloomberg also provides a variety of analytic tools for researching and tracking market sectors as well as individual securities. Bloomberg Business News provides up-to-the-minute as well as archived news online. There are a number of manuals on using this database at the Reference Desk. It is not possible to download data onto a disk from this database. ACCESS: Bloomberg Financial Services, the producer and supplier of the Bloomberg database, specifically requires that this database be used only by faculty, students, and staff for educational purposes. Bloomberg is available on one computer near the Reference Desk.

Compustat is a time series database. It contains 20 years of annual and 12 years of quarterly income statements, balance sheets, statements of cash flow, line of business and market data for publicly held U.S. and Canadian companies. It also provides 7 years of business and geographic segments, as well as 240 months of stock prices and dividend data. The database also contains data for over 7600 inactive companies that no longer file with the Securities and Exchange Commission due to mergers, liquidations, or bankruptcies. ACCESS: Compustat is available via a front end product called WRDS. This product provides compustat information on companies via the web. Please see a librarian at the Reference Desk in the Business Library for access to this database.

Factiva provides access to more than 14,000 business, trade, and general publications, including same day, full text access to the Wall Street Journal, Barron's, the New York Times, the Financial Times, the Los Angeles Times and the Washington Post. The full text of major business magazines such as Business Week, Forbes, Fortune, the Far Eastern Economic Review, the Asian Wall Street Journal, the Economist and the Wall Street Journal Europe are also included. Factiva offers detailed company information under its Companies/Industries heading. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

Fintel provides financial metrics for over 2500 industries. The database includes 3 reports: income statement and balance sheet data reported as a percent to sales revenue, income statement and balance sheet data reported in dollars, and 15 corporate ratios. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

Mergent Online provides a fully searchable database of corporate information on 15,000 U.S. public companies, 20,000 non-U.S. companies, both active and inactive, as well as data for companies that were acquired, went backrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1995 onward. Company records include annual reports, SEC filings, company history, mergers, acquistions, disposals, joint ventures, description of business, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, news reports, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, annual stock price ranges, stock splits, dividend payment history, income and cash flow statements, balance sheet, auditors and the qualified auditors' report. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

OneSource Global Business Browser provides intelligence on over 16 million U.S. and Canadian firms as well as the top 100,000 international companies and 50,000 subsidiaries and branches of multinational companies located in developing countries. The database also includes industry trends, analysts' reports and information on 18 million executives. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

The Value Line Investment Survey is a comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. It has three parts: The Ratings & Reports section consists of one-page reports on approximately 1,700 companies and more than 90 industries. Each company report contains, among other things, Value Line's timeliness, safety, and technical ratings, financial and stock price forecasts for the coming 3 to 5 years, an analyst's written commentary, and much more. The Summary & Index contains an index of all stocks in the publication as well as many up-to-date statistics to keep investors informed about the latest company results. It also contains a variety of stock "screens" designed to help investors identify companies with various characteristics. The Selection & Opinion section contains Value Line's latest economic and stock market forecasts, one-page write-ups of interesting and attractive stocks, model portfolios, and financial and stock market statistics. ACCESS: Value Line Investment Survey is available on one computer in the Business Library. It is also available in print (Ref HG 4921 V3 R3) in the Reference Collection.

Directories

Associations Unlimited describes more than 154,000 national, international, regional, state, and local associations. In addition to basic address and website listings, it has information on membership, publications, and conference dates. Formerly the Encyclopedia of Associations. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

D&B Million Dollar Database provides directory information on more than 1,260,000 U.S. public and private businesses. It is searchable by company name, by industry (8-digit SIC codes), size, type of ownership, principal executives or geographic area. The database is updated every six weeks. There are no archives of outdated information. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

Hoovers provides comprehensive information on over 43,000 public and private companies as well as 600 industries. Records include company histories, executives, financial information, products and operations. The library subscription does NOT provide access to the Family Tree section. Use the D&B Million Dollar Database for subsidiary information. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

ThomasNet is the primary source of product information for about 157,000 North American manufacturing companies. The database includes 135,000 trade names organized into 50,000 product classes. ACCESS: Available to everyone.

International Business

Country Studies includes in-depth analyses of countries prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the Department of the Army. Information for 100 countries is currently available. Dates vary; see the "Research Completed" date at the beginning of each study or the "Data as of " date on the end of each section of text. ACCESS: Open to everyone.

CountryWatch provides country specific geopolitical intelligence on each of the 192 countries of the world. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

Culturegrams describes the customs, geography, history, culture, people and lifestyles of people in 177 countries. This database is a particularly good place to start when researching a country. ACCESS: Culturegram is only available on B-School network computers in Grainger Hall. The same information is available in print in the Business Library Reference Collection, GT 150 C86.

Global Market Information is a valuable resource for its market research reports spanning all consumer sectors analyzed by country, region, or the global market. It also provides in-depth industry reports for hundreds of industries in Australia, China, France, Germany, Japan, South Korea, UK and US. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

Global Newsbank offers varying perspectives on international issues and events. Covering Africa, Asia, Europe, the former Soviet Union, Pacific Rim, Central and South America and the Middle East, it is ideal for researching a wide variety of international developments related to politics, economics, science & technology, culture and business. The full-text news articles are from more than 1,500 international sources, including translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, wire services, newspapers, periodicals and government documents. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

Global Road Warrior is our most comprehensive database with information on all aspects of doing business in every country of the world. It covers culture, demographics, communications, crime, the economy, infrastructure, trade and more. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

International Financial Statistics consists of approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas. It contains "current data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions (including balance of payments and international investment position), government finance, and national accounts. Information is presented in tables for specific countries and in tables for area and world aggregates." ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, and staff.

Political Risk Yearbook provides extensive economic, demographic, and social background on over 100 countries. It has 18-month and five-year forecasts of risk to international business for each country. Its risk studies are based on the Prince forecasting model, covering international business. Each study focuses on finding developing markets, determining currency movements, preparing for capital investments, or making judgments about corporate security. Individual country studies feature accurate and rigorous analysis of present and future political and economic conditions. Each report follows a standardized format, making comparisons between countries easier. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

Source OECD Country Reports & Tables is a single e-library offering online access to all OECD books, reports, annuals, working papers, loose-leaf binders, periodicals and databases. It comprises 20 thematic book collections, 24 periodicals, 3 reference titles, 24 OECD statistical databases and 10 IEA statistical databases – all in full text. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, and staff.

World Development Indicators, WDI Online contains statistical data for more than 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2000 for more than 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, and staff.

World Factbook contains overviews of each country in the world including brief data on geography, people, government, economy, membership in international organizations, communications, and defense forces. Maps and flags may be viewed in various formats. ACCESS: Available to everyone.

Investment & Analyst Reports

Morningstar Principia Pro is a mutual fund advisory service. It covers over 1,500 mutual funds and includes such data as fund objective, recent price and dividend information, ten years of performance figures, background on portfolio composition, portfolio analysis, risk and return analysis, and Morningstar ratings. Data is updated on a quarterly basis. ACCESS: Morningstar is available on one computer in the Business Library.

OneSource provides intelligence on over 16 million U.S. and Canadian firms as well as the top 100,000 international companies and 50,000 subsidiaries and branches of multinational companies located in developing countries. The database also includes industry trends, analysts' reports and information on 18 million executives. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.
For a tutorial on finding Analysts' Reports, click here.

The Value Line Investment Survey is a comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. It has three parts: The Ratings & Reports section consists of one-page reports on approximately 1,700 companies and more than 90 industries. Each company report contains, among other things, Value Line's timeliness, safety, and technical ratings, financial and stock price forecasts for the coming 3 to 5 years, an analyst's written commentary, and much more. The Summary & Index contains an index of all stocks in the publication as well as many up-to-date statistics to keep investors informed about the latest company results. It also contains a variety of stock "screens" designed to help investors identify companies with various characteristics. The Selection & Opinion section contains Value Line's latest economic and stock market forecasts, one-page write-ups of interesting and attractive stocks, model portfolios, and financial and stock market statistics. ACCESS: Value Line Investment Survey is available on one computer in the Business Library. It is also available in print (Ref HG 4921 V3 R3) in the Reference Collection.

Market & Industry Research

Global Market Information is a valuable resource for its market research reports spanning all consumer sectors analyzed by country, region, or the global market. ACCESS: Licensed access ONLY for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

Mintel Reports analyze market sizes and trends, market segmentation, along with consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. They provide thorough analyses of specialist sectors, breaking down often complex issues into comprehensible sections to highlight marketing opportunities, as well as consistently assessing the futures of the markets and the companies dominating them. ACCESS: Licensed access ONLY for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

OneSource has market research on industry trends and analysts' reports in addition to detailed company information. ACCESS: Licensed access ONLY for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

Simmon's Choices III is an electronic version of Simmons' "Study of Media and Markets". It is useful for retrieving demographics and psychographics of product users and media audiences. ACCESS: Simmons Choices III is available on one computer in the Business Library. Ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.

Statistics

SimplyMap is an Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.  Most users can utilize this resource with less than 10 minutes of training. 
Demographic Variables
Retail Sales, Store Groups, and Food Service Variables
Easi Sales and Other Potential Variables
Easi Quality of Life Variables
Consumer Price Index Variables
General Employment (By Place of Work)
General Establishment (By Place of Work)
Detailed Employment (By Place of Work)
Detailed Establishment (By Place of Work)
Detailed Consumer Expenditures Variables
Easi Profile Variables
Ancestry Tabulations
Current Estimates and Five Year Projections

In order to access this resource, you will need to establish a “personal workspace”.  ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.

STAT-USA/Internet provides access to three U.S. Department of Commerce databases. State of the Nation (SOTN) provides current and historical economic and financial releases and economic data. It includes the Consumer Price Index, Producer Price Index, GDP, NIPA and many other economic tables. Global Business Procurement Opportunities (GLOBUS) and the National Trade Data Bank (NTDB) are two of the U.S. government's most comprehensive sources of international trade data and export promotion information. They offer daily trade leads from the Trade Opportunities Program (TOPS), and provides access to Country Commercial Guides, Market Research reports, Best Market reports, U.S. import and export statistics, as well as over 75 other reports and programs. ACCESS: Please see the librarians at the Reference Desk in the Business Library for access.

Statistical Universe contains abstracting and indexing data for more than 5,000 federal statistical publications per year from 1973 to the present contained in ASI (American Statistics Index). It also contains the full text of more than 800 U.S. government statistical publications from 1995 to 1997, including the Statistical Abstract of the United States. Starting in 1998, monthly updates add up to 650 full-text statistical publications each year. In addition there are many links to full-text documents on government Web sites (verified daily). Information and tables are frequently available in a variety of formats, including GIF, XLS, CSV, and PDF. ACCESS: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff; available from campus libraries, home or office.